top of page

🗳️ Understanding the Government Structure in Mexico 🇲🇽

For our foreign friends living in Mexico, it’s essential to understand how the government is structured to better navigate and appreciate the local governance.

Mexico is a federal republic divided into three branches of government:

1. Executive Branch: Headed by the President of Mexico, who is elected every six years and cannot be re-elected. The President is the head of state and government, responsible for implementing and enforcing laws.

2. Legislative Branch: Consists of two chambers - the Senate (Cámara de Senadores) and the Chamber of Deputies (Cámara de Diputados). Senators and Deputies are responsible for making and amending laws. Senators serve six-year terms, while Deputies serve three-year terms.

3. Judicial Branch: Ensures laws are followed and interprets them through the court system, headed by the Supreme Court of Justice of the Nation (Suprema Corte de Justicia de la Nación).

Beyond the federal level, Mexico is divided into 32 states, each with its own government:

1. Governors: Each state is headed by a Governor, elected every six years. Governors oversee the state’s executive functions.

2. State Legislatures: Each state has its own legislature responsible for making state laws.

At the local level:

1. Municipal Presidents (Presidente Municipal): Similar to mayors, they are elected every three years and oversee municipal governments responsible for local administration.

Understanding this structure helps in recognizing the roles and responsibilities of each level of government in Mexico. 🇲🇽 Post by : Baja Sunrise Mexican Insurance


Buscar por tags
No tags yet.
Follow us :
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram
bottom of page